Mother Earth

“For as long as space endures, and for as long as living beings remain, until then may I, too, abide to dispel the misery of the world.”

When I was a child I lived in a small community that was surrounded by a forest that held beautiful trails, creeks and animals inside of it. My brother, my friends and I would spend all of our days there. We knew everything about it; where the old rusted train track was, the shortcut to where the supposed mystery man lived, the path to the corner store, the best spots to catch frogs and sometimes where leaches would catch us. One of the trees had a swing hanging from it and a fort from which we could sit and watch the kids soccer games. It was a meeting place, a safe haven, a never-ending adventure and it was beautiful.

I have always spent a lot of time outside enjoying the natural world. The change of color in the fall leaves, the sound of the water hitting the shore, the feeling of lying in the grass looking at the sky; I’ve always loved it more than most people I’ve known. It has always brought me such grace, peace and serenity. I used to go for nature walks by myself and climb trees as high as I could go and then just sit there and think. I have been hiking more lately and seeing all of the naturally occurring swimming pools, waterfalls and stairs while climbing mountains has made me realize that the connection I feel to our earth and it’s beauty is so profound. Since becoming vegan about eight months ago and becoming more spiritual, I have developed an even stronger attachment to nature and so has grown my desire to protect it.

I have had many meaningful connections with non-human animals and this has influenced my views on the environment and nature drastically. All animals are here on earth for a reason and they are not ours to eat, experiment on, wear, abuse or use for entertainment.

Earth and all of its parts are sacred and must be protected. The way we are living right now is not sustainable and we must make a change before the already devastating damage we have done to our home will be irreversible. As I learn more and more about the environment and the impact that society has on it, I expect to become deeply involved in helping to preserve our planet and in spreading awareness. I have strong emotional reactions when I hear or see people doing awful and selfish things in regards to the environments’ well being. It can be very frustrating at times knowing that most people are completely unaware of how much their actions affect the planet and even worse, that they just don’t care. If everyone all stood together to make a change it could do incredible things for our planet. Eating meat is the biggest cause of global warming and is a larger contributor to global warming than cars and not to mention cruel and inhumane. If everyone decided to leave meat off their plates, they could discover that not only is it healthier for your body to be vegan but it could save our planet.

If we don’t take care of our home, then where will we live?

One thought on “Mother Earth

Leave a Reply

